Member Feature: Elizabeth McElhone

Why did you want to join the USC Newcomers’ Club?
When we moved to USC my daughter was a year old and I was at home with her full-time. We were both ready to get out and meet some new friends.

Where did you recently move from?
We lived in Scott Twp. for three years. It was very tough to sell our first family home!
Where did you grow up?

Other than while attending school I have lived in Pittsburgh my entire life. I grew up in the northern suburbs of Pittsburgh. If you know anything about this town, you know that my moving to the South Hills qualifies me as either a brave pioneer or a traitor.

Where did you go to college and what did you study?
I have an MBA and degree in Organizational Psychology. I also have completed course work in a joint Social Work/Public Health program at the University of Pittsburgh. I may or may not ever become ambitious enough to go back, but I really like the idea of working in Public Health.

What do you do for your day job?
I have stayed home with my daughter since she was born.

Do you have any kids? If so what are their names and ages?
My wonderful daughter Maura recently turned three.

Do you have any pets?
We have a six-month-old labrador puppy named Maggie.  Before Maggie I had a fabulous lab named Boomer for fourteen years.

What do you like to do for fun?
I have been running since Jr. High School.  I like to run several races each season.  I also enjoy hiking, yoga, working in my yard, and meeting friends for dinner at new/different places.  I love to spend time at the beach every year as well.  As I am typing this I am realizing that I might need some more hobbies!

What books on your shelf are begging to be read?
Sadly none! I used to read a book or two a week, but I have stopped making the time to read during the last several years. I do have several magazines laying around unread though.

What’s the biggest goal you are working on now?
Training my large and lively puppy. As a former marathoner I would love to race that distance again. I am working at increasing my milage, but I am finding that it was much easier to do at twenty!

What upcoming Newcomers’ event are you looking forward to attending?
I would love to get back into reading and attend a book club meeting.