Member Feature: Elizabeth Schwall


Why did you want to join the USC Newcomers’ Club?

We moved here 4 years ago and we didn’t know a soul! I knew that I needed to make friends fast because without any family in the area, we would need support from others to thrive here in St Clair, especially being a young family (at the time we had just bought our first house and were expecting our first child). The playgroups were perfect for me because they gave me a weekly date to see and get to know the same moms. Four years later, many of the moms in that first playgroup are my closest friends!

Where did you recently move from?

We were in State College for 6 years before moving here.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in two places. Until I was 16 we lived on Long Island in NY, and then we moved to Cooperstown, NY. Although that was a tough time to move, I feel lucky that I got to live in both in an urban and rural area as a kid.

Where did you go to college and what did you study?

I went to Cornell and studied child development. I got my doctorate from Penn State in clinical psychology.

What do you do for your day job?

Right now I am home caring for my kids full time. However, I am a clinical psychologist and I specialize in working with children and families.

Do you have any kids? If so what are their names and ages?

My son (Leo) will be 4 in February and my daughter (Emilia) is turning 1 in a few weeks.

Do you have any pets?

No pets, which I am grateful for because I have enough to clean up! 😉

What do you like to do for fun?

My husband and I love to eat and try new foods/restaurants. We are so happy there is good Ethiopian food here! I also love to get drinks with friends, read a good book, or go to the museums.

What books on your shelf are begging to be read?

Right now, I’m reading Where did you go Bernadette, Mommy Mantras, and Playful Parenting. Of course this is when I can manage to stay awake long enough at night to read!

What’s the biggest goal you are working on now?

I’m getting ready to open a private practice and I’m dabbling in the world of blogging. For anyone who might be interested, the address is

What other things do you want your fellow newcomers to know about yourself?

I’m really glad to live in a place where I can get to the city and take advantage of the universities and museums and theater in no time, but also go hiking or visit the local farms just as easily. It’s such a nice balance!