Member feature: Erin Urban

Why did you want to join the USC Newcomers’ Club?
l work from home. It’s been a great way to meet people who aren’t  employees at Trader Joe’s or the Farmers’ Market.
Where did you recently move from?
Bethesda, Maryland. My husband and I both lived in the D.C. area for about a decade. We were married for the last three of those ten years. Before I got married, I lived in D.C., specifically Mount Pleasant. My husband is from Pittsburgh. His parents still live in the house he grew up in (in Beaver County) and his brother lives in Peters Township with his wife and kids. My husband, Chris, wanted to come back for years. He breathes better here.

Where did you grow up?
I was born in New Jersey near Philadelphia. We moved to the Orlando area when I was 12. I’m not a big fan of Florida, but I stayed there through college; in-state tuition is an insanely good deal. I was in NYC for a few years before I moved to D.C. to go to grad school.

Where did you go to college and what did you study?
Florida State University in Tallahassee, theatre and communication with an emphasis in public relations. Tallahassee is not a stimulating place to spend four years of your life, but I did get to study in London for a semester (at FSU’s London campus).

What do you do for your day job?
I started working for the government five years ago when I still lived in D.C. I’m still in the same job, but now I telework full time. I’m in internal communications, so I write and edit. One of my favorite things is taking a document and making the mistakes go away.

Do you have any kids? If so what are their names and ages?
I don’t. We are lucky enough to have three nieces and four nephews. One of each lives in Peters Township.

Do you have any pets?
We have a puppy (well, she’s three, but she’ll always be a puppy to me) named Gypsy. She’s a terrier mix with a sweet temperament and a lot of heart.

What do you like to do for fun?
I enjoy going to the theatre, traveling, reading, and listening to music. The box office manager of Little Lake Theatre in Canonsburg is my next-door neighbor; I’ve only missed two shows in the two years I’ve lived here. I have a subscription to a streaming music service, which allows me to be a voracious consumer. Please let me know if there’s anything I need to hear!

What books on your shelf are begging to be read?
I bought a book called The Micronutrient Miracle which I’m looking for some good information from, but it’s not what you’d call a page-turner, so it isn’t begging very hard. I’m a bit of a news junkie – The New York Times, The Washington Post,, etc. Book club is a lot of fun, and while you don’t have to read the book, I often do, so I’ll probably pick up Circling the Sun.

What’s the biggest goal you are working on now?
If you’ve met me in person, you probably know I’m on a special diet for my M.S. It has made a difference. I spend a lot of time in the kitchen and make sleep a priority. Healing from an auto-immune disease is ambitious and it may or may not be possible, but that’s my biggest goal. Since that’s the question.

What upcoming Newcomers’ event are you looking forward to attending?
I missed book club in September, so I want to get there next time. The Autumn Chill event at Ashley’s house was a lot of fun, so I look forward to seeing what the other couples’ events are this year. I also love brunch, so even though that’s not until December, I’m looking forward to that.

What other things do you want your fellow newcomers to know about yourself?
The picture above was taken when the Steelers got one for the thumb!