Member Feature: Krystin Ciesco


Why did you want to join the USC Newcomers’ Club?
I joined the USC Newcomers’ Club because it seemed the most logical way to meet people.  As a mom of older school aged kids, you are no longer working in their classrooms or really volunteering in the schools, so meeting people in the same season of life is more challenging.  After stumbling upon the club on the internet, it offered an opportunity to start the process of establishing a sense of community.

Where did you recently move from?
Northern California

Where did you grow up?
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan

Where did you go to college and what did you study?
Michigan State University~Sociology and Criminal Justice

What do you do for your day job?
Domestic Goddess, dog walker, pseudo gym rat, and crafting connoisseur

Do you have any kids? If so what are their names and ages?
I have 2 daughters-Peyton who is 13 and Teaghan who is 10

Do you have any pets?
I have 2 dogs-a black lab Dunstan and a Papillon mix Ruby who we rescued plus 2 guinea pigs-Zoe and Ginny and 2 beta fish whose names I don’t even know.

What do you like to do for fun?
Travel, ski, read, work out, Michigan State football games and anything where my family can be together

What books on your shelf are begging to be read?
In addition to the monthly book club selection,  I currently have 79 books on my good reads account waiting to be read and I’m always adding to that list.  Just to pick my next read is a challenge.

What’s the biggest goal you are working on now?
We recently moved into a new house and had most of our belongings in storage for a year plus.  In addition to unpacking, I am purging and organizing all of the stuff that no longer fits in our new environment as well as organizing all the keepsakes, pictures, and just stuff accumulates.   I am also exploring the idea of going back to school but I’m not sure what I want to be when I grow up.

What upcoming Newcomers’ event are you looking forward to attending?
I always look forward to book club and the wine and chat nights but I’m also looking forward to more couples events and the Favorites Party in December.

What other things do you want your fellow newcomers to know about yourself?
I am a huge sports fan-mainly college football but I love college basketball,  baseball and hockey.   I can pretty talk to anyone about most sports and my husband once joked that he wished I picked up a cookbook as much as pick up the sports page-lol!!!