Member Feature: Laura Muhl

Why did you want to join the USC Newcomers’ Club? 
Although I had already lived in town for 2 years, I had recently stopped working (and travelling out of town for business each week) . I had received a mailing from Newcomers when we first moved in, and now had the time to actually attend events – and I really needed a chance to meet people in town. In those 2 years, I had only met my immediate next door neighbors!

Where did you recently move from? 
We moved here from Rockville, Maryland – although my husband grew up in this area and his extended family lives nearby.

Where did you grow up? 
I grew up in Fairfield, Connecticut. My town had 5 different public beaches on Long Island sound – the more I move – the more land-locked I get! I still have a brother and 2 sisters in Connecticut, another brother and my parents in Virginia, and a sister who splits her time between Florida and Pittsburgh (her 2 oldest kids now live in Pittsburgh too – so I now have my niece and nephew in town representing my side of the family).

Where did you go to college and what did you study? 
I attended the University of Connecticut, and have a BS in Public Relations (in which I never found employment….)

What do you do for your day job? 
I’m currently a stay-at-home Mom. I was 41 before we were able to start our family through adoption, and we waited so long for a family, we decided it was best for me to suspend my career for a few years. Previously, I was a business consultant for a large healthcare company called Kaiser Permanente, helping with process improvements and IT system implementations.

Do you have any kids? If so what are their names and ages? 
We have a son, Teddy. He is three (and a half, he’ll tell you.)

Do you have any pets? 
We have a mini-Dachshund named Gus.

What do you like to do for fun? 
I like to quilt, watch movies, read, and play with my son. I enjoy cooking and baking (but hate dishes).

What books on your shelf are begging to be read? 
I have a stack of books on my nightstand right now – a mix of fun fiction books and parenting books. Some are partially read, some are begging me nightly to be read. I used to read about 2-3 books a month, but now with a 3 year old, it just doesn’t seem to work out that way….it’s a New Year’s Resolution to read more and use my iPad for internet surfing less.

What’s the biggest goal you are working on now? 
I’m trying to declutter our house. Too much stuff seems to suck the life out of my soul. When we lived in Maryland, I used to volunteer once a month at our church’s thrift store, which helped me to constantly weed out our belongings and bring in donations once a month. Without that monthly reminder, things have piled up….THIS YEAR – I swear – I’m going to finally have a tag sale (a New England term – I think here they’re garage sales? Even though I’m not selling my garage?). And learn to sell on EBay. And give more often to Goodwill.

What upcoming Newcomers’ event are you looking forward to attending? 
We belong to a weekly playgroup, but I enjoy the Craft Nights the most. It’s nice to have sounding boards in my fellow crafters (although I’m not always working on a craft per se: I’ve completed thank you cards, invitations, and once just went empty handed to talk to some women).

What other things do you want your fellow newcomers to know about yourself? 
I found one of the hardest things to do was walk into my first few Newcomers coffees by myself – I’m not very outgoing until I know people better….but I’m so glad I forced myself out of my comfort zone! Our club has something for everyone – watch the calendar and Facebook page – and GO to something. I look forward to meeting you!