Member Profile: Sherri Sliski

Why did you want to join the USC Newcomers’ Club?
I didn’t want to get too settled into our new routine here and forget to make friends. Having events on my calendar requires a commitment, and I’m more likely to do things that way.

Where did you recently move from?
Bartlett, TN, which is just northeast of Memphis.

Where did you grow up?
I born in Howell, MI, and raised in southeastern Michigan in the smallish town of Dexter. However, I tell people I’m from Ann Arbor, MI, because most people know where that is and it’s infinitely cooler than being from Dexter.

Where did you go to college and what did you study?
I attended Kalamazoo College in Kalamazoo, MI, then transferred to Eastern Michigan University and obtained my Bachelor of Fine Arts. I also took a few courses in chem and physics at the University of Wisconsin.

What do you do for your day job?
I’m a stay-at-home mom.

Do you have any kids? If so what are their names and ages?
I have Lydia, 5 years old, and Vivian, 7 years old.

Do you have any pets?
Butch, a senior Boston Terrier.

What do you like to do for fun?
I enjoy complex cooking challenges, hiking the trails behind our house, reading, knitting and sewing (strictly amateur!)

What books on your shelf are begging to be read?
I’m working on The Goldfinch right now. It’s wonderful, but it’s taking me forever, because I don’t want to rush it and miss any of the detailed writing.

I’m hoping to eventually read our delivered newspaper! I always sigh when I recycle it and only my husband has read it.

What’s the biggest goal you are working on now?
I would love to get my older sister and myself to Nepal somehow! Hopefully, for her 50th birthday in two years. We have lots of family to see there.

What upcoming Newcomers’ event are you looking forward to attending?
I was really looking forward to Escape the Room, but I was unable to go. The LDO Christmas Brunch sounds like fun.

What other things do you want your fellow newcomers to know about yourself?
I was an EMT/ambulance driver in Wisconsin for a couple of years, I have an Associate’s degree in Culinary Arts, I’ve lived a lot of different places (stateside) because my husband was Navy (ret. 11/2014), I was an interior painter/faux finisher in Washington, DC for five years.